Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Eris Constance

Please Close, Thank You! :)

Hi... I have a problem with my current job. My superior wants me to work on a project for practically free, and I simply don't know what to do. See, I'm a researcher and we get paid per page on projects. The project being forced on me has only a few paid pages, but I know that given all of the instructions and requirements for the project, it would amount to more pages. If I do this project, I will be doing work practically for free, since the technicalities of the project would result in more than a few pages. More like triple the paid number of pages. It is not possible to do a coherent research with just a few pages. Sad

I feel so helpless, because despite the fact that I know I am being treated unfairly (not to mention forcing the project on me--when in fact, we are given the right in the company to turn down a project), I feel helpless because my superior can get very unreasonable. My superior has always been unhelpful and I find it hard to believe that my superior will be understanding now.

Sad I'm sorry you have such an unreasonable superior, but I can't offer any advice. If I was in your situation, I would just do what my superior told me. Is there anyone in the upper ranks you can complain to? Do you think your superior is singling you out for some reason to bully you? If that's the case then you should complain. But if he's treating you the same as everyone else, then you probably can't do anything. Hopefully things will get better for you. Hang in there. Smile

That's a rough place to be.

All I can suggest is to talk to the superior, carefully explaining that to accept this project means that you will be putting in time that won't be compensated for. And to accept projects like these, devalues you.