Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
streetfighter

can this be welded

Been offered this R1 on a 51 plate 1 owner from new been in a crash not a bad one the but fairing all twated can be repaired. Have a look at the pics bottom part of engine cracked and where it hit something ??? just wondering if it can be welded

not promicing but i reckon you could,

i had a smashed sump was like a 4 intch hole in bottom of a motocross bike, they weleded it, put a new sump plug, and welded the cracks up.

do you want me to take a picture to my uncle a welder by trade see what he says?

can't see why not so long as all the bits inside are ok . also you may need to stip the block as it will get hot and what is under that part of the block . ?????

@Stue11 wrote:
Not sure on that Micky, how much they asking thumbs

£1500 stue but I think I can get it a little cheaper as he wants another R1 he uses it when it's dry, and always keeps the oil topped up, and serviced he is one of the technicians at work thumbs

not promicing but i reckon you could,

i had a smashed sump was like a 4 intch hole in bottom of a motocross bike, they weleded it, put a new sump plug, and welded the cracks up.

do you want me to take a picture to my uncle a welder by trade see what he says?

Please chad if you could thumbs

It's possible but you may struggle to find someone to attempt it. When I needed a tiny weld doing on an engine the only form I found willing to give it a go wanted the entire engine stripped in order to heat up the component before welding.

Not really worried about the fairing as I would fighter it polish the frame and do bits and pieces to it thumbs

@Stue11 wrote:
Not sure on that Micky, how much they asking thumbs

£1500 stue but I think I can get it a little cheaper as he wants another R1 he uses it when it's dry, and always keeps the oil topped up, and serviced he is one of the technicians at work thumbs