Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Thorrr

Tutorial - True Fire

Firstly I just want to say that I am new to this hobby and in no way an expert at this, what I am posting are some progress photos of my paint experiments, but there may be much better ways of doing this.

The car used for this How-To is the Twin Mill III.

The "secret" of true Fire is that the fire is painted in white and covered with transparent/candy paints (and since these virtually disappear when sprayed over black, that is why almost every TrueFire paint job is over a black base).

Here is my black base

First layer of fire is done with a handheld mask, this will be the darkest colour and cover the largest area of all the fire layers

Since I am doing a "normal" coloured fire, this will be coverd in a red transparent paint. Use whatever paints you like.... it doesn't have to be top stuff like HOK, use Tamiya clear red and yellow if that's what you are comfortable with..... now, you may laugh, but I am using "Glass Stain" ...why?because I'm cheap and can get it for $2 per spray can because the hardware store are discontinuing the line, and I think my fire is turning out ok.
Anyways, red goes on

Another layer of white flames

Forgot to take the photo of the orange going over the white so here is a picture of a bunny with a pancake on its head instead.

Another layer of white flames, now over the orange.
Each layer of white flames should have less flames than the previous.

Clear yellow over the white flames

Last white flame layer should just pick up a couple of highlights

and then it's time to clearcoat.

Thanks for looking.

Thorrr

I like the pancake bunny! tongue

Thanks for the lessons, bro.

nice bunny with pancake, LoL..
btw really great tips u got there..
i wish i can try it..

crazy flames man! now those are really HOT Wheels! haha Twisted Evil

awesome... mr bunny can share the pancake?